Chat with Opemipo Disu about Agility CMS

Chat with Opemipo Disu about Agility CMS

Hey There, I'm having this interview series where I will be having top users at Agility CMS for everyone to know more about Agility CMS.

Today, I'll be interviewing a 14-year-old developer who is also a Developer Advocate for Agility CMS, Opemipo Disu.

Can you tell us about yourself? How and when did you join Agility CMS?

Opemipo: I am Opemipo, a 14-year-old developer, I'm a computer programmer who loves to code with languages under web and software development. I am a Keynote speaker I am passionate about coding, I'm also a vibrant developer from Lagos, Nigeria. I love coding, contributing to open source projects and I love making YouTube tutorials too.

I have addressed over 10,000 developers and I have addressed more than 20,000 people in a keynote session. I have also spoken at over 20 tech conferences and I am a member of different top tech communities like the Facebook Developer Circle: Lagos, Facebook Developer Circle: Uyo, Facebook Developer Circle: Toronto. I am a top contributor at the IBM Community too. I am an IBM Champion, the youngest IBM Watson Programmer, the youngest JAMstack Developer, and a Developer Advocate too. I run a YouTube channel, Opemipo's Thoughts where I do coding tutorials and have tech talks also. I am a Developer with over 4 awards.

Initially, I was in love with technologies like Gatsby and NextJS and the companies using them, so later I heard about Agility CMS after getting into JAMstack, I studied Agility CMS a bit, and later, I started using Agility CMS and joined the community, after joining the community, I became a Developer Advocate for Agility CMS.

What is Agility CMS? Do they sell cars?

Opemipo: Agility CMS is a SaaS headless content management system that makes the web more accessible to developers. It is a JAMstack tool that makes things easier for developers, it is fast, easy and it is also the best way to manage and maintain your content. Using Agility CMS is one of the best ways to JAMstack because of its accessibility.

What's a Headless CMS??

Opemipo:Wondering what a Headless CMS is? take a quick look at this

A headless CMS is a content management system that provides a way to author content, but instead of having your content coupled to a particular output (like web page rendering), it provides your content as data over an API

What's your role at Agility CMS and how has it affected you positively?

Opemipo: It has changed my life, I'm now a more responsible person with Agility CMS as a Developer Advocate For Agility CMS, I gained more followers and I've become a more professional Developer Advocate.

##Why Should I use Agility CMS?

Opemipo: Agility CMS is different from other CMS, it is not the traditional type but it is the Headless CMS that works with JAMstack tools like NextJS and Gatsby JS.

##Is Agility CMS like WordPress?

Opemipo: Not at all.

WordPress vs Agility CMS

Opemipo: Many people think of WordPress when they think of CMS. WordPress has a significant share of the market and has been around for many years.

There are many benefits to going with WordPress. But, as developer and blogger Kira Leigh put it in her article titled "This is why WordPress sucks and you should probably stop using it":

"With a WordPress website, small businesses don't have to worry about editing static pages, but WordPress is a nightmare for people who know how to code the same solutions, faster.”

WordPress is an excellent solution if you need an inexpensive blog and a WYSIWYG editor. WordPress is quick to set up. But if you need to create a website that can last and grow with you as your brand grows, then you need to consider a change.

According to Aashni Shah, CEO at Elixir Labs:

“What made WordPress powerful was the numerous plugins; however, support for those plugins would randomly die or break between different versions of WordPress and then I’d either have to find and reconfigure a replacement or look for some other alternative.”

If you feel that your recent projects push the limits of your CMS, it might be time to start learning more about Headless solutions.

Let's take these two leading CMS platforms and compare them side by side: WordPress as a Traditional (or Legacy) CMS vs. Agility CMS as one of the first original Headless CMSs' in the market.

WordPress vs. Agility CMS: Legacy CMS vs Headless CMS In this article, we’ll be looking at five key points of difference between WordPress, the leading legacy CMS platform, and Agility CMS, a hybrid headless CMS trusted by cutting-edge brands including Pepsico and Mitsubishi Electric.

  1. The overall approach to content management: Website First vs Content first.

  2. The ability to save and optimize your precious time and resources.

  3. The performance and reliability of your website.

  4. The Security of your website and your data.

  5. The overall experience for both developers and editors.

    Read more

Would you advise people to use Agility CMS?

Opemipo Of Course! Agility CMS is king!

Did you find Opemipo's story useful and inspiring? Write down your thoughts in the comments section below and don't forget to share. You can follow Opemipo on Twitter.

Thanks for reading, see you next time 👋🏿.